



## **General**

## UMP Student Parliament session opens 15 April 15 and ends 16 April 16 2023

8 May 2023

PEKAN, 15 April 2023 - The 2022/2023 Student Parliament Session begins on 15 April 2023 and ends on 16 April 2023.

Pahang State Assembly Speaker, Yang Berhormat Dato' Sri Haji Mohd Sharkar Haji Shamsudin in his speech advised the Members of the Student Parliament, Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP) to be

open on something to be the best leader.

However, he said if one disagrees on a matter, the leader should handle it with an open and patient attitude.

The university is the best place to learn how to be a leader.

"If we look at the leaders of the country, most of them have backgrounds and experience as student leaders while at university.

"Therefore, make this DPP a platform to learn about leadership," he said when opening the Student Parliament Session at the Senate Hall, UMP Pekan.



Also present were the UMP Vice-Chancellor, Professor Dato' Ts. Dr. Yusserie Zainuddin cum the Speaker of the Parliament, and the President of the UMP Students' Representative Council (MPP), Agha Khilfi Suarno.

Professor Dato' Ts. Dr. Yusserie in his speech said the DPP is the main medium in connecting the university's top management with students in order to be able to share ideas and views on student welfare issues on campus and national development.

"In addition, the implementation of this DPP is in line with the desire of the Ministry of Higher Education in the student empowerment agenda.

"This also proves that UMP is very committed to producing skilled students as well as applying MADANI values in student programmes," he said.



There was also the proclamation of the Deputy Chairman 1 of DPP by appointing the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni), Professor Ts. Dr. Mohd Rusllim Mohamed who performs the functions of Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International).

Meanwhile, the Director of Akademi ADAB, Associate Professor Dr. Mohd Nizam Mohmad Kahar was appointed Deputy Chairman 2.

The Student Parliament was attended by 78 students consisting of the Presidents and Chairmen of the Student Body Associations and 24 members of MPP UMP.

By: Nor Salwana Mohammad Idris, Corporate Communications Division, Chancellery Department

Translation by: Dr. Rozaimi Abu Samah, Engineering College/Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering Technology

24 views

**View PDF** 

