

Student

MPP UMP election successfully implemented in new norm

8 March 2021

PEKAN, 15 January 2021 - The Student Representative Council Election (PMPP), Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP) was successfully implemented in a new norm when the country was hit by the COVID-19 pandemic.

According to the Chairman of the Student Selection Council Committee for the 2020/2021 Session, Che Muhammad Harith Ab Halim, he was grateful to those involved in ensuring the voting process can be carried out well despite the great challenges.

"Honestly, we can see that this PMPP received a lukewarm response due to the flood and the spread

of COVID-19.

"Furthermore, for the first time, this PMPP was held entirely virtually, including the nomination and polling day," he said.

He also shared his experience in managing PMPP in this new norm.

He said the biggest challenge was the technical problems because everything was done online. "Preparation in terms of systems and media must be emphasised.

"Besides that, the flood situation also limits the movement of the committee to the campus to make preparations and maintain the system," he said.

He also congratulated and advised all winning candidates to carry out their responsibilities sincerely and put students as a priority in carrying out their duties as student representatives.

In this election, a total of 30 candidates contested for 13 general seats and 27 faculty seats.

The polling for faculty seats only took place at the Faculty of Industrial Management (FPI) and the Department of Mechanical Engineering while the candidates representing eight faculties won without contest.

FPI seats were won by Mohammad Azrul Hamim Mohd Azhar with 452 votes and Basnel Marjonni Basri with 434 votes.

The seats in the Department of Mechanical Engineering were won by Syafiq Ahmad Abdul Aleem with 151 votes and Muhammad Muadz Khairul Rizan with 141 votes. The uncontested seats for the Faculty of Computing was won by Siti Nor Aishah Md Nor Zawai.

Wan Nur Ardini Che Wan Shamsul Akhbar and Nur Shafiqah Zakaria won the seats for the Faculty of Industrial Sciences and Technology (FSTI). Vighna A/L Muthusamy won the seat for the Faculty of Civil Engineering Technology (FTKA).

Wan Nurfaris Iskandar Wan Aznan won the seat for the Faculty of Electrical & Electronic Engineering Technology (FTKEE). For the Faculty of Mechanical and Automotive Engineering Technology (FTKMA), the seat was won by Muhammad Ammar Fakhri Adnan.

For the Faculty of Manufacturing and Mechatronics Engineering (FTKPM), the seat was won by Muhamad Hazman Shahrul Fadhilah. Amir Zuhaili Abdul Karim and Hafizul Fahim Moh Roffi won the seats for the Department of Electrical Engineering.

Meanwhile Nurhidayah Norhazandi and Dura Amira Noor Azmi won the seats for the Department of Chemical Engineering.

Thirteen general seats were won uncontested by Mohd Asraf Andman, Mohd Amirul Ikhmal Yoda, Muhammad Arif Hakim Mohd Hanafi, Agha Khilfi Suarno, Adam Alif Mihar, Muhammad Hisyamuddin Abdul Aziz, Saiyidatul Marsyitah Aisyah Suhaime, Nur Shazwanie Zainurin, Qosrina Abdullah, Kaiyisah Khairah Hasri, Nurul Aina Jamaluddin, Nur Zarith Halisa Mohamad Sofi dan Mohamad Irfan Zainuddin.

Four seats have no representatives including the Institute of Postgraduate Studies (IPS), Centre for Mathematical Sciences (PSM), Department of Civil Engineering and Faculty of Chemical & Process Engineering Technology (FTKKP).

By: Nor Salwana Mohd Idris, Corporate Communications Unit, The Office of The Vice-Chancellor

Translation by: Dr. Rozaimi Abu Samah, Engineering College/Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering Technology

TAGS / KEYWORDS

<u>MPPUMP</u>

• 173 views

View PDF