



## Research

## Dr. Nurul Azyyati and Mohd Safeirul named AAU winners

27 December 2022

KUANTAN, July 21, 2022 - Dr. Nurul Azyyati Sabri and Mohd Safeirul Zaman Abd Majid were named winners of the 2021 University Academic Award (AAU) at the recent Bitara 21 Cendekia Award ceremony at Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP) held at the Zenith Hotel Kuantan.

Dr. Nurul Azyyati Sabri, lecturer and Head of Programme (Diploma of Industrial Sciences), Faculty of Industrial Sciences and Technology (FSTI), said she did not expect to be selected to receive this award for the Applied Sciences category.

"I would like to express my gratitude to the university management who chose and gave the opportunity to receive this award.

"Not forgetting all the students who provide a lot of cooperation during the entire teaching and learning period.

"Hopefully, this effort will encourage me to be more proactive and creative in teaching sessions," she said.

While Mohd Safeirul Zaman Abd Majid, Language Teacher at the Centre for Modern Languages (CML) also thanked the family, students and university management for this recognition.

He, who had previously won AAU 2015, said an educator should always prepare with new technologies in teaching and learning.

"The feeling of always wanting to learn something has driven me to get used to an e-learning platform that can help attract students.

"We also don't have to be ashamed to learn from others who are younger even though we have our own expertise," he said.

The University Academic Award (AAU) is an award coordinated by the Centre for Academic Innovation and Competitiveness (PIDA), Academic and International Affairs Department (JHEAA).

There are three categories, namely Engineering/Technology Engineering, Applied Sciences and Social Sciences.

This award began in 2009 through the Excellent Lecturer Award to reward the services of academics who have demonstrated excellence and creativity in the aspect of Teaching and Learning (T&L).

The awards were presented by Chini State Assemblyman, Tuan Mohd Sharim Md Zain representing Menteri Besar Pahang.

Also present were the Chairman of the UMP Board of Directors, Tan Sri Dato' Sri Dr. Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahman, UMP Vice-Chancellor, Professor Dato' Ts. Dr. Yuserrie Zainuddin and UMP top management.

Both winners received cash prizes of RM5,000, award certificates and trophies.

By: Nor Salwana Mohammad Idris, Corporate Communications Division, Chancellery Department

Translation by: Dr. Rozaimi Abu Samah, Engineering College/Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering Technology

45 views

**View PDF** 

