





## **Campus Life**

## **UMPSA** students demonstrate democratic spirit in Student Representative Council Election

24 December 2024

GAMBANG, 5 November 2024 – The voting process for the Student Representative Council Election for the 2024/2025 Session at Universiti Malaysia Pahang Al-Sultan Abdullah (UMPSA) concluded smoothly yesterday, with a voter turnout of 58.10 percent.

The election involved 7,193 students, marking an increase of 4.13 percent compared to 6,697

students last year.

Voting took place at two locations: the UMPSA Sports Complex Hall at Gambang Campus and the Student Activity Centre at UMPSA Pekan Campus.

Students were also able to vote online from 8 am to 5 pm.

The announcement of the election results was attended by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation), Professor Ts. Dr Aida Mustapha, who is currently serving as Acting Vice-Chancellor of UMPSA. Also present were the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student Affairs and Alumni), Professor Ts. Dr Mohd Rusllim Mohamed, and the Registrar, Dato' Saiful Bahri Ahmad Bakarim.

Professor Ts. Dr Aida congratulated and expressed her gratitude to the Department of Student Affairs and Alumni (JHEPA) and all UMPSA students for demonstrating their commitment to the democratic process on campus.

"UMPSA students have shown an admirable spirit of democracy, as evidenced by the significant increase in voter turnout, which recorded the highest number of voters in the history of the MPP Elections.

"Congratulations to the UMPSA Student Representative Council Election Commission, and best wishes to the newly elected leaders. I hope each of them will successfully represent the voices of the students," she said.

The university also implemented various initiatives to encourage student participation through programmes such as the Undi-18 Programme and the Voting Education Programme conducted by the Election and Nationality Academy in collaboration with the Nationality Academy of Malaysia.

Additionally, the Voter Education Co-Curricular Module was introduced for this election and can be accessed through the MyCredential System provided by the UMPSA ADAB Academy.

This year, 48 candidates contested in the elections, comprising 17 general seat candidates and 31 faculty vote candidates from three parties: Revolusi Siswa Siswi, Demokrat Siswa, and Aspirasi Siswa.

## **General Chair Winners:**

- 1. Aniq Zamzamy bin Sibron (TB22016)
- 2. Nazirah binti Marzuki (PC22146)
- 3. Muhammad Fauzi Hakimi bin Mazlan (KA22024)
- 4. Ellysya Diana binti Khairul Annuar (RO23061)
- 5. Arvind a/I Pathmanathan (SC23014)
- 6. Nur Aisyah Fairuz binti Muhamad Ferdaus (SD23036)
- 7. Nur Zulaiha binti Saruddin (AA23156)
- 8. Nurlyana Hazwani binti Nong Chek (TE23071)

## **Faculty Chair Winners:**

- 1. Faculty of Computing:
- Nur'ainin Sofiya binti Razali (CB22098),
- Ahmad Husamuddin bin Azmafaizal (CF3025)

- 2. Faculty of Civil Engineering Technology:
- Wan Abdul Azim Khawarizmi bin Wan Mohd Rumaizi (AA22114),
- Nursyahirah Wafa binti Azamudin (TE22042)
- 3. Faculty of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technology:
- Muhammad Muzaffar Irfan bin Mohd Hairul Anuar (TG22109),
- Nureen Jazlina binti Md Nizam (TG22103)
- 4. Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering Technology:
- Muhammad Amirul Haziq bin Khairul Nizam (TJ23036),
- Nur Syafiqah binti Adnan (KA22118)
- 5. Faculty of Mechanical and Automotive Engineering Technology:
- Muhammad Haykal bin Halid (MA22012),
- Muhammad Adib Irfan bin Ruslan (TM22003)
- 6. Faculty of Manufacturing and Mechatronics Engineering Technology:
- Siti Hadijah binti Hassan (FA23028).
- Morheet Rao a/l Nantha Kumar (FA23028)
- 7. Faculty of Industrial Science and Technology:
- Fatimah Syazwina binti Maslan (SA22063),
- Muhammad Faizuddin bin Jamaluddin (PA23094)
- 8. Faculty of Industrial Management:
- Muhammad Fazleizam bin Mohd Khairudin (PB23172),
- Wan Nuraisyah Balqis binti Ahmad Bustamam (PC23172)
- 9. Centre for Mathematical Sciences:
- Zahin Zikri bin Zawawi (SD23019)
- 10. Institute of Graduate Studies:
- Norhannina binti Ketemu (MMZ24003),
- Mohamad Firdaus bin Mohamad Borhan (MDZ24004)

By: Naqiah Puaad, Centre for Corporate Communications
Translation by: Aminatul Nor Mohamed Said, UMPSA Career Centre (UMPSACC)

17 views

**View PDF** 

